Dear Larry Madowo, Wallace Kantai and Victoria Rubadiri

Posted: May 20, 2013 in Uncategorized

 The news is not about you… *that’s all*

I’d wish to end there and publish this post but let me explain a bit by copy pasting something by Tim Njiru;

“Dear Mr & Mrs News Presenter, CNN, The BBC, Aljazeera English among other international News Broadcasters will bring you all the news, sports, business and weather in 30 Minutes. Our Local channel (esp NTV) will be dragging at story Number 5, 27 minutes later. Reason…the presenters are spewing loads of their personal agenda on-air thinking I will buy that? I don’t know about you, but that unscripted “Add-lib” is eating into the station’s reputation as being credible. If you really think you’re all that, I challenge you to have your own show and solicit your ratings there. The content in a News bulletin is not about the presenters, its about setting the news agenda without leaving me with more Questions than answers. Kindly drop that garbage and get to work.”

We say trends in the media are dynamic and things keep changing but you guys at NTV like bringing so much of your personal opinion on  prime time news making the whole thing lack objectivity  – something that my journalism school lecturer told me is key to any news story.
If you want the news to be about your opinion have your own show – that is very okay just don’t do it on prime time news. CNN’s Anderson Cooper has his own AC360, NBC’s Racheal Maddow has Racheal Maddow show and I can name many more. Maybe it’s time we had Larry Madowo show? Or have a show with the three of you together which I will differ with Tim Njiru on coz I know it will be a great show but not with ratings close to Prime Time news!!
Something unrelated (maybe related) …. why do you guys talk so much during news. Especially when you are interviewing news sources? The other day Bob Colymore told Wallace Kantai  “Wallace don’t argue with me.” Do you know how embarrassing that was?
What happened to “letting the news maker talk?” … that was one of the things I was taught as being a great skills in interview techniques…or that ended with exams?

And Larry Madowo went on another argument contest with Charles Owino the police spokesman the other day and Owino just fell short of calling him a noise maker!!
To make it worse you guys are dragging Victoria Rubadiri into this and she is following your footsteps very keenly.
Linus Kaikai is one of the best minds in Kenyan media to date but I don’t understand why he is keeping you guys on prime time tv coz if you ask me you guys belong to PM live and any other show that looks like that. Is it because NTV cannot hire mature talent? With mature I don’t mean old recycled journalists but anchors who can deliver content with the seriousness it deserves. 
In the meantime I think we will stay at RIP NTV news for a little longer.

Click here to get info about the I AM AFRICA CONCERT celebrating the Life and Times of Nelson Mandela going down in Kisumu on 21st Dec. 2013

                   
                         
                 
                                        Follow me on twitter @IamOminde
                                       Click here to like my facebook page


Comments
  1. Ivan Imbo says:

    Larry & Kantai make news look like a big joke. I can't stand it! I'm glad someone finally noticed. Giys, you take your jibes a tad too far. Keep it simple and professional please.

    Like

  2. sharonova says:

    whoa! i'm i the only one that likes them? i think they make news worth watching.

    Like

  3. Well spoken. Truth be said, I find Larry Madowo disgusting; he doesn't come accross as BRIGHT, just a NOISE MAKER

    Like

  4. Well, those complaing why do you keep watching NTV if it lacks objectivity? You can watch KTN, K24, Citizen, KBC, UTV, GBS to choose from for heaven's sake. Minding your own business will do you a lot of good.

    Like

  5. Anonymous says:

    Haha i think smone is jealous.smtyms its good to move away from traditions taught by your lecturer coz it meks things interestn.

    Like

  6. Did you get to read this part? – “If you want the news to be about your opinion have your own show – that is very okay just don't do it on prime time news. CNN's Anderson Cooper has his own AC360, NBC's Racheal Maddow has Racheal Maddow show and I can name many more. Maybe it's time we had Larry Madowo show? Or have a show with the three of you together which I will differ with Tim Njiru on coz I know it will be a great show but not with ratings close to Prime Time news!!”

    Like

  7. Don't be ignorant…we are not complaining but criticizing. There is a difference between the two. Invest in some English classes before you sound stupid.

    Like

  8. Anonymous says:

    I have no qualms with Kantai professionalism, but Larry is surely a noise maker… just yapping all the time…nkt…

    Like

  9. Anonymous says:

    Vicky had better style up… with all those twangs nkt

    Like

  10. I don't think she really is twanging…she grew up abroad so it's acceptable.

    Like

  11. Anonymous says:

    And now that you have no power and authority over them you better shut up and mind your own business.

    Like

  12. Hail Mary mother of Jesus save me from this mediocrity…I will not justify this with a response

    Like

  13. Anonymous says:

    you people are just messed up haters. get a freaking life! you're hating because you want to be them?? well im sorry you'll never be them. and if you dont like them, why watch ntv news?? stupid people!

    Like

  14. rayrae says:

    Boss you finally brought out what i felt and exactly how I felt it. I dont watch NTV news anymore. Kindly check on SMG (Standard Media Group) Holders of KTN and SDE (Standard Digital Edition) of which I am subscribed to, honestly I would unsubscribe anytime but this is my source of news when am out. The SDE has alot of gossip and stories that look like a KCPE Composition or Naija movie in writing. Its ok to get courtesy stories from other sites but can they be updated.
    wow….. I feel much better

    Like

  15. Anonymous says:

    Boss, we now know u attended class n follow wat u were taught to the letter. Bt wea has it gotten u? I bet this is the first tym most r seeing ua name. Too bad u r critisizing ppo who r way ahead of u. Atleast get to a quater of their journey n then i can xcuse your yapping. Get a lyf dude! An for the record, the three those three av madr kenysn news worth watching…..its called transformation.

    Like

  16. Anonymous says:

    i agree with the writer, those guys suck

    Like

  17. U guys join me and Graciously make more than USD 3000 PER MONTH
    http://dollar4referral.com/?refcode=24956

    Like

  18. juliet says:

    haters,

    Like

Leave a Reply

